Archive for April 6, 2010

Crawling and Standing

April 6, 2010

It’s finally happening.  Stella is now 10 and a half months and she is actually crawling.  She has been skooching around in a VERY weird way for a few days now, but yesterday was the first day that I’ve seen her CRAWL… and she’s getting faster by the minute!  She’s also started pulling herself up to standing position with the help of furniture around the house.  Here’s a picture of her standing after she pulled herself up using the stair railings.

As you can see by the look on her face, she is VERY proud of her new accomplishment.  Next step is she’ll be racing up and down the stairs!

In the past, I was able to plop Stella down on the floor with her toys and know that when I came back in a minute, she would be right where I left her.  Those days are over.  I’m having to re-think my strategies when it comes to getting things done around the house.

Yesterday I did a little gardening outside and I stuck Stella in the play yard on the porch.  This way she would be safe, able to watch me and play with her toys.  She was less interested in her toys, and more interested in practicing her standing up skills.  She would stand and then sit, and then stand, and then sit… wanting my congratulations every time!

She loved to watch me work away, and enjoyed being out in the BEAUTIFUL warm weather.  When I look at this picture I am reminded of how quickly the past year has gone by.  Next month she will turn 1 year old!  She is becoming such a “big-girl.”  Stella has been a blessing to us this past year, and we can’t wait for all of the adventures we will have with her this summer!  We love you Stella!