Archive for July 20, 2010

Stella’s Walking

July 20, 2010

Yesterday afternoon (July 19th) Stella took her first steps on her own.  It all started when out the corner of my eye I thought I saw her walk from a foot stool to one of her stand up toys.  I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me because I only saw it at the last split second, but my mom and I thought we’d try to encourage her to do it anyway.

My mom and I sat on the ground about 5 feet apart to start and on her very first attempt she walked from my mom to me!  Of course we hugs and clapped and cheered for her which made her want to do it again and again.  We slowly kept spacing ourselves out further and further until she was walking about 10-15 feet on her own.

I’m so glad my dad was there with us because he got out the camera and caught this wonderful “first time” experience on video.

I’m so very proud of my little girl for everything she accomplishes, but this was a special moment… she’s turning into such a big girl.  We would tell her that too as she walked back and fourth.  “OOOooooo, what a big girl Stella,” we would say over and over.  She would verify our comments by smiling huge and saying, “bie gguurr.”

Another milestone.  I love this being a mom thing!